Jan.03.05

Wow, it's 2005.

The New Year's party was really pretty fun. We ended up paying an out-of-control $30 for parking downtown, but oh well. I dare say it was worth it.

The rest of our holiday break was nice. We saw some friends, we spent lots of lovely, restorative time here at home. C. and I are super-homebodies, so that kind of thing is like heaven to us.

E. has had a little stomach virus during the last 24 hours. I think he's feeling better now, thankfully. He held down a cup of milk at about 2:00, and it's 4:30-ish now. Way to go, little guy! I think you beat it.

E. is becoming more and more fun. He's really into a phase where he enjoys repeating what people say. It's cute. He also loves his toy tractor and dump truck. He's learning how to tell jokes, too. There's this show on the HBO Family Channel that he loves, called "I Spy." It's kind of a stop-motion/claymation thing. The main characters love to tell jokes. One day a few weeks ago, E. walked up to C. and I and garbled out something that sounded like, "The big diaper! Ha-ha-ha, good one Cece!" I finally figured out that he was repeating a joke he heard on "I Spy." It goes like this: What's a baby's favorite constellation? The big diaper! We now tell this joke to each other about ten times a day. It always gets a laugh from E.

And finally, I discovered something yesterday that makes me very sad: DirecTV stopped carrying the Trio Network. What the hell?? It was seriously one of the best channels ever. I can't believe it's gone. It was brilliant. I know that this news is pretty dumb, compared to the tsunamis or just about anything else, but dammit, it's still bad news. Nothing good can last, I tell you.

square - hip