Jan.21.05

I think all this time in the house is magnifying the dirt and dust in this house, so I've been hacking away at cleaning, little by little. The kitchen took me three separate chunks of two hours each, but now it looks amazing. It's funny how you don't notice the dirt buildup sometimes and then you run a cleaning cloth over it and you're shocked at what you've been living with.

It's maybe cheesy to say, but damn, it's uplifting to look around and see no dirt, dust, spills, whatever. Just clean. Ahh!

I've still got plenty to do--the kitchen is only a fraction of the deal--but it's a good start.

It's been a few weeks since I played The Sims, so last night I took 20 minutes (whoo!) to play. It's funny how I've managed to manipulate my Sims to mirror my life almost identically. I swear I didn't mean to! I have a man (Tim) and a woman (Gail). They're married, they have a house, Gail got pregnant and had a baby boy (Walter) who just turned into a toddler last night (happy birthday Walter!). Walter is quite an active little guy and likes to play in the toilet. The only thing that's different with my Sim family is that Gail is about to pop any day now with baby #2. I'm going to bet that they have a girl this time. Gail and Tim are looking pretty strung out and exhausted, Tim works all the time and all Gail wants to do is talk and flirt with her hub. I just want to tell them, welcome to life, folks! Haha.

It's hard to believe, I'm sure, that the Sims would be a fun game when it's just like real life, but it still is. I'm weird, I know.

More good news yesterday: I finally got my period, after a record-long 41-day cycle. Yeah, it's good news because if I'm not going to be pregnant, at least it's nice to know that my cycle still exists. Maybe my thyroid is just making things more unpredictable. Oh well, no matter now, I'm taking time off from baby-making while I work on my thyroid issues. Then baby-making will resume.

I lie in bed every night lately wondering how I'm going to handle all of this thyroid stuff. How to find a good doc, how to get what I want, what I need, how to get my questions answered. This feels like it's going to be a long haul. I need to find my dream doctor. I might also need to find the best surgeon in the city. Oy. How? It's all about strategy, money, time, patience. And I don't know what the fuck I'm doing!

Wow, this seems pretty long. I should go.

square - hip