Feb.14.05

Happy Valentines Day, everyone! I just can't dislike a day that celebrates love.

This weekend was so good.

Mostly it was a normal weekend, until Sunday afternoon, when we went to Stories On Stage. It was kind of a Valentine's date, since going anywhere Monday night wasn't going to work. Stories On Stage was really great. C. had never been, and he liked it too. The stories were all about love and synchronicity. The first two storytellers were so talented, and their pieces so touching, I got a little teary, even.

So, after that, we headed home. I was thinking of an evening of chicken curry leftovers and maybe washing diapers and watching Carnivale. We came in the back door, and I heard our friends (who were watching E.) talking to someone. I off-handedly said, "Sounds like a party in there," not really meaning it. Then I pushed open the dining room door and was met with the smiling faces of about 20 friends yelling, "SURPRISE!!"

I was so shocked, almost to the point of horror, haha. I certainly was surprised, as my birthday isn't 'til the 19th, so I wasn't even thinking about it, really. Anyway, I always thought that being the guest of honor at a surprise party would be the ultimate joyous occasion, but I have come to find out that I maybe don't like being surprised quite that much. I got a little teary again (am I PMS-ing or something??), ducked into the bathroom to get ahold of myself, and then all was well. So many people came, and brought kids, there was good food, and everyone was having a good time. It was completely awesome! I've never had a party at my house without me knowing, haha. Thank Maude that C. and I cleaned the hell out of the house on Saturday. Now I know why he was so bent on cleaning! Hahaha! C. was so relieved that everything worked out okay. I guess he was kind of a wreck, planning it and keeping all those secrets from me. He said he was glad that it was over so he wouldn't have to sneak around behind my back anymore. What a sweetie.

Even more amazing is that as part of my birthday gift, my girlfriends are having me along for a winter retreat weekend in Michigan--this weekend! Ack! Short notice, but I'm super-psyched. I will spend the whole time in the hot tub. Oh! And sleeping late. Ahhhhh.

square - hip