March.24.05

My search for the perfect endocrinologist is over. I can't believe I finally found the doc for me!

First, he told me that needle biopsies every six months is totally unnecessary.

Second, he told me that the three biopsies I've had would rule out cancer to under a 1% chance. Those are some fucking good odds!

Third, he told me that I will only have to see him once a year, and will probably never have to have another biopsy again, because if my thyroid nodules have been proven to be benign, there is no way that cancer will "develop" at a future date.

Finally, he felt that surgery was absolutely unnecessary.

His bedside manner was great. He explained things to me more than anyone has ever before, he listened to me, he was friendly and understanding. I am still in happy shock that things went so perfectly.

I am now going to have the supreme pleasure of "firing" my old doc., the one who did nothing but scare the crap out of me on a regular basis. That is going to feel sooooo good.

Now I feel happy and healthy! I feel like what I have is not a terrible disease (that could mutate into a horrible disease, but a minor illness for which I take a pill once a day and then I can forget about it. This is the best day I've had in years.

square - hip