June.09.05

Well, I paid for another year of gold membership, so I guess I am staying. Might as well celebrate with an entry!

I'm learning that chaos can be fun, but maybe in slightly smaller doses. Basically, about a month ago, my dad unexpectedly announced that the next week he'd be coming up to Chicago with my uncle in tow, to do the remodeling we'd been planning. We were totally not ready for them, but what can you do? We just dug in and hung on.

They are still here! I can't believe this has been going on for about a month now! Other than feeling tired of dealing with double the menfolk (and their many, many foibles) than what I'm used to, it's been pretty good. I like hanging out with my dad and my uncle...so long as my dad doesn't bring his wife up here. She's been up for a few days from KC and it has slowed work down and knocked our "routine" (such as it is) out of order. Besides, I kinda like being the matriarch. What I say, goes.

All that said, I cannot WAIT for things to go back to normal, or our version of it. This house feels quite small with four adults and a child and a cat. And the cat is making trouble too. She has already peed her dissatisfaction on our bed once. Gah. And I am so tired! Because Dad and Uncle are night owls (and so am I, at heart), it's very hard to get to bed before 11PM. I dream of two lovely new kids' rooms upstairs (no, I'm still not pregnant--just preparing for the future) and an awesome, acoustically-correct music mastering studio for C. It will be so cool.

Right now, I am buzzing so hard from the coffee I drank, my hands are feeling wobbly. Whee! I should eat.

square - hip