July.02.05

Hooray, it's the holiday weekend and my dad and uncle are a mere half-day away from finishing their work here! After seven weeks, it's finally done! Now comes the painting, which is our resposibility. I'm kind of looking forward to it right now, but I'm sure that by the end, I'll not need--or want--to paint another thing for many years to come.

It looks really, really good. I can't believe this is our house. My dad and uncle are very talented and skilled in construction. They should be--they've been doing it since they were teenagers, and their father and uncles were/are all in construction too. It is very comforting to know that we don't have to blindly trust some schmo we don't know from Adam. Even though we technically hired them to do this job, I know that they quoted us a price that's far below what they would have charged a stranger. We owe them BIIIIG. I have no idea how one pays back a favor like this, but well, anything they want, we are there.

And now, I am looking forward to them going home, heh. Honestly, it hasn't been bad at all, but it's time for life to go back to normal, please. I think they are excited to get home too. Seven weeks is a long time to have houseguests or to be a houseguest. It was starting to feel like the makings of a sitcom--Dad and Uncle come to do a two-week drywall job, and stay FOREVER. Hilarity ensues.

Happy 4th everyone!

square - hip