Aug.07.01

Da-ta-da! Today was my first day working for the atlas company!

Here's what I did all day:

I drove a car.

Okay, I also talked a lot with F., the guy I met at the party who told me about the job and gave me a recommendation. He told me where to drive, as the drivers are partners with the mappers. He is a good person to work with. We have similar music taste (although he likes Steely Dan. Eww.), we know some of the same people, and we get along well in general. I know that if I were still in my unmarried, wild-oat-sowing days, I might have liked him. But thank god I'm not anymore, because I can see with total clarity what would have happened. We would have maybe gone out on a couple of dates and then it would have fizzled out. He and I are both strong-willed people, and he's got some nasty habits that I can deal with now, but not for very long. I know that he could never put up with my occasional wishy-washy-ness, and there you go. Thankfully there are also other mappers I will be driving with, because I could see how F.'s habits could become quite annoying sooner than later.

But on the whole, it was a good day. I certainly didn't feel as if I was working, which is great. So far I like this job. Let's hope it continues this way.

Ugh. So tired. It's too early to be so tired!

square - hip