Aug.12.01

This morning: The first thing C. said to me was, "Wanna get some doughnuts?" and I knew he meant Krispy Kreme. How could I say no? We jumped out of bed and didn't bother with showers or grooming--just threw on some clothes and got in the car for the trip to the South Side. Of course, I had to do my usual commentary about the fact that there are no decent doughnut shops anywhere near our neighborhood. Why no Krispy Kreme on the North Side?? I don't know. Seems like some kind of conspiracy to me. And don't let me hear ANY of you suggest Dunkin Donuts, because they don't make doughnuts--they make garbage. I was raised on the finest doughnuts in the world as a kid. I'm talking about Lamar's Donuts in Kansas City, Missouri. If you've never tried one, you are missing out. Lamar's makes the best in the world. Krispy Kreme is a good second, though. I'll take a warm Krispy Kreme if Lamar's is not available, thank you. And boy howdy, I did. I ate two of those glazed mofos and a cup of coffee, and I felt pretty guilty all day. I watched in horror as C. put down four of them. I waited for his heart to stop all day. I think he's going to make it, but just in case I think I'll periodically check his vital signs while he's sleeping tonight.

I have actually started to consider opening a branch of Lamar's Doughnuts in Chicago's North Side. Hey, it's a fully untapped market! Krispy Kreme's loss could be my gain. (Ha, gain is what I'd be doing, since I'd probably eating those doughnuts too...)

Aaannywayy, the rest of my weekend has been pretty good too. Friday night we went to A & L's gallery for another art opening. We spent the evening in the kitchen with our friends, not looking at the art and drinking beer 'til we basically got kicked out.

Saturday was spent noodling around with C.'s audio engineering programs on the computer. Fun but frustrating. I think I'm starting to get it. Then we watched "Shadow of the Vampire" on DVD. I liked it. I thought Willem Dafoe was both scary and funny.

Saturday night was Gr.'s birthday celebration at our favorite Ethiopian restaurant. Mmmmm! I love Ethiopian food. Unfortunately for us, the restaurant had sustained some rain damage and smelled like a very dirty armpit. I put some mint lip balm under my nose and was fine. L. did nothing but complain, complain, complain. About the stink, about everything. God, she was high-maintenance before she got pregnant, but now it's so much worse. I've been trying very, very hard to humor her, since she really is obviously uncomfortable just from being pregnant. But oh, she just dances on that last nerve. I don't know how A. puts up with it. L. has managed to piss off all of our friends, one by one, and it seems that C. and I are the only ones who are determined to hang on because we care about A. He loves L., therefore we must try to tolerate her nutty-ness. Sometimes it's easy, sometimes it's a...challenge.

At any rate, we had a good time for the most part, and the food was excellent!

This weekend I also rented a tape of the first three episodes of "The Sopranos". I have to say I enjoyed it. I feel like such a lemming! Oh well, I don't care. It's hard to find things that truly entertain me. I like it. I'm going to rent the next tape soon. Ah, Tony Soprano. Such a teddy bear you are. Even when you're beating that guy senseless with a telephone receiver, I can see you have a sensitive side.

So wordy I am these days!

square - hip