Jun.03.02

Oh my! It really, really has been entirely too long! I've missed you all so much and I've been dying to post! I did try to update recently, but things here at D'land were all screwy. I got kind of freaked out by it, and honestly I was a little 'fraid to come back for a few days there, for fear that everything was going bizarro and would never get back to normal. Of course, that was a ridiculous fear, for Andrew would never lead us down that path, right? Right! Everything looks blessedly normal now. *whew*

Sooo... Let's see if I can recap, like, the last week or two without forgetting everything or getting too long-winded...

My Dad sold the home where I spent my life from age four to age 19. He forgot to tell me for almost a month. He actually tried to convince me that he already told me. He has a terrible memory. I wanted to get upset at first, but then I stopped--I did know that it was coming. I just didn't know how soon. Now my childhood home (well, what's left of it after the fire) belongs to someone else. It feels weird and sad to know it.

I had another appointment last week where my midwife told me the rest of the results of my ultrasound. She told me that the ultrasound showed that I have what is called a "marginal placenta previa," which means that the placenta is slightly covering my cervix. I think. Anyway, what it really means is that if it doesn't move away from there (and it could do that over time), I will be having a C-section. Obviously, I'd like to avoid that. Here's hoping it moves. She said that it usually does, but we'll see. I have to have another ultrasound in four weeks, and in the meantime, she said, "You and your husband should avoid making love." I should have asked what that meant. "Making love" encompasses a lot of stuff, and well, it's also not a very clinical way to say it. Needless to say, I have to call her back for clarification on that one. I mean, preggo women have...(ahem)...needs too!

This past weekend was spent in Indiana, attending our second wedding of this summer. Two down, one more to go. The wedding itself was nice, but I felt pretty detached. I didn't really know the people getting married that well, but I did know many of the other guests. In fact, our friend B. came from San Fran with his girlfriend A. to attend. C. and I were so happy to see them. We've especially missed B., since we used to hang out with him so much when he lived here. We had a great time catching up. A. got pretty lit, which was very funny stuff. C. and I were hanging out with her when the very hott date of one of the groomsmen came up. They chatted for a short moment and then kissed passionately and very much open-mouthed. She even grabbed my butt once and my right breast another time, which made me laugh rather than get angry because she was drunk, and well, because it's been a long while since I've had that happen. Being visiby pregnant does not usually spark people to make passes at you.

Well, anyway, I feel like I have more to say, but I just can't imagine cramming it all in this one entry. I'll come back for more soon.

Love,

squarepants

square - hip