Apr.21.01

Today C. and I went shopping downtown. Very not like us, by the way, to do the downtown thing, especially on a weekend. Downtown is full o' yups and rich old ladies and rich families with spoiled kids. But we were on safari, you might say. I needed some pants that I knew without a doubt I could get at the Levi's store, and C. wanted some new tennis shoes. He was leaning toward a pair of Campers. I was hoping he would buy a pair like this:

But he got some that were slightly different. Still nice, though. I'm happy that he is trying to get a little more style these days. He has been in schlub mode for quite some time, and it's not as charming as it used to be.

During our shi-shi shopping safari, I noticed a disturbing proliferation of anorexic mannequins in the stores. I mean really, really, really skinny mannequins. And in one store, they even had tiny, perky breasts! With very stick-y out-y nipples! It was pretty gross. Pardon me for being shocked--I'm sure this is not a new development--but still...Ugh! I'm a huge advocate of normal-sized models in magazines too, even though I know there's about a snowball's chance in hell of it happening.

I keep hoping anyway!

In other news, I had a talk with my boss the other day, and I think I am going to try to stick it out. She said there are ways that they can work with me to make my work experience a little more manageable, like an alternate schedule and whatnot. I told her I would think it over.

Okay, I'm officially tired of staring at the glowing box. Later!

square - hip