Apr.24.01

Did you know that bananas contain tryptophan, the same stuff that's in turkey that makes you sleepy? This is one of the many things I learned while reading Nutrition For Dummies. Cool, huh?

Today was a hell day at the workplace! But this time, the pressure was not just on me, but on everyone. It got so bad at one point that I heard my boss arguing with her boss. It was almost funny to hear them bitching/bickering at each other. I can understand why my boss was mad--we are ridiculously short-staffed right now, so her boss (who is really pretty clueless about the finer details) is trying to help and he's fucking everything up. Thankfully, my temporary fill-in role is actually easier in some ways than my normal duties...

I scored at the used bookstore today. Cherry by Mary Karr was in, and I got it for less than half the price of a new copy! Woo! By the way, I can't recommend highly enough Mary Karr's first memoir, The Liar's Club. I couldn't stop reading until the book was done. And then I wanted more.

C.F. gave me her old sewing machine. I just got it back from being repaired, and I can't wait to get started whipping up some nice pillows and curtains and clothes! Any suggestions out there for good, easy sewing patterns?

Oh, so very tired. I should go to bed. I suppose I would not be so tired if that ridiculous girl who lives above us would JUST GO TO BED at a normal time. Pretty much every night/morning (between 1:00 and 3:00 AM), one or both of us is (are?) awakened by this girl doing some noisy activity that requires her to walk around her bedroom, moving heavy objects while wearing wooden clogs. Or something. Her bedroom is right above our bedroom. We have done everything in our power to nicely and politely ask/convince her that she is being just a tich too loud late at night, but she ignores us. I am a heavy sleeper, and she wakes me up. I once slept through my house being broken into while a police helicopter flew past my third-story bedroom window, but I can't handle this girl's late-night thumpings and clompings. The really sad thing is, I used to be just like her--I used to think midnight was still pretty early! My motto used to be: "Anything that can't be done after noon isn't worth doing"! What happened to that girl? That girl would have probably made friends with the girl who lives above!

I know what happened. I got married (no more tom-cattin' necessary!) and got a job that forces me awake at the ungodly hour of 6AM. I don't like it (the getting up early part, that is), but I likes my sleep. I love sleep. Love it. Sleep.

So that's what I'm gonna do now. G'night.

square - hip