Aug.20.01

Everyone should go and look at my profile right now. I'm quite proud of the "Favorite Diaries" section. Then, you should go here and look at the trailer for the Kevin Bacon movie "Footloose". Why? Because first of all, it's so funny, and second, why the hell not? Right? Also, go read my gal sweettits's entry about getting her first tattoo. She rocks.

My day so far has been full of empowering things. I've been a busy bee--making calls to the phone company to straighten out bill stuff, calling my doctor, going to the post office. It feels good to get stuff done. Yesterday and today have been good, productive days.

Last night we finally made contact again with A.M. and A.S. We got together to have a couple of drinks. Talked about a lot of things, and eventually they got around to this subject. They really opened up to us about it. I think that helped them (to talk things out) and us (so we could provide comfort and understand their situation). When we left, I felt like we had really done well by our friends.

I don't think I've ever had a closer bond with friends than the ones I have now. I thought I had close friendships before, but now I realize that real friendship is much more than just hanging out. It's sharing in both the fun and sadness. It's shocking how long I've gone through life not really actually knowing this.

Crazy.

square - hip