March.02.02

This is kind of sad, but true:

If snow wasn't piling up on our little satellite dish, I would be sitting in front of the TV right now.

Today is just a day for doin' nothin'. Well, at least it is for me. C., on the other hand, has been a mighty productive little worker bee. So far, he has shoveled the front walk, done a load of laundry, gone to the hardware store, fed the cat, changed the cat litter, fixed the doorbell, worked on a music project, and knocked snow off the dish at least four times. Now he's cooking dinner. Nothing fancy, just chicken and mashed potatoes, but still. I'm simply amazed! The extent of my productivity was to make the bed, shower, and dress. Hey, I made the bed! I'm not a total loser!

Oh well. I've become quite comfortable with blaming pregnancy for my lack of motivation. After all, I do think that it's somewhat true. Last night when A.S. teased me for using canned tomatoes in my veggie chili, I simply pointed to my mid-section and said, "Hey, talk to the belly, alright?"

Last night was an auspicious night because S. joined us (along with A.M. and A.S.) for our evening of Trivial Pursuit and veggie chili. Since her husband Sh. was killed (last June), I have seen her once. C. hadn't seen her at all. She was in amazingly high spirits! Honestly it was comforting to see her cracking a few jokes and having fun. She just bought a new car--a very fancy, very tricked-out BMW. 16-speaker sound system, seat warmers, computerized driver settings, the works. Normally I'd be disgusted with the opulence of such a vehicle, but in S.'s case, she totally deserves it. I hope she is really happy in every way possible.

And finally, after trying for two weeks to get ahold of my absentee so-called best friend, she called this morning. I told her our good news, and of course she's ecstatic. At least, I think she's ecstatic. She said she was. But I know her, and I know that she has a knack for being...well, two-faced seems too harsh, but... Anyway, everytime I talk to her, I wonder again how much longer we'll be friends. We're losing touch. It's sad.

square - hip