Nov.11.03

Oh how I suck. It�s been exactly a month since my son�s first birthday, and I didn�t even take five minutes to document it until now. Yes, it was the eleventh of October, a gorgeous sunny Saturday. We had a little party in the backyard with friends and family, some snacks and drinks, and a mostly-organic scratch carrot birthday cake. E. loooved that cake. He buried his hands into his slice, smeared it around the plate, squished it in his hands, then sucked his fingers with this dreamy look on his face. The best part was when he actually started to doze off while sucking cake off of his fingers, with everyone looking on and laughing. Truly, it was picture-perfect.

Well, I�m happy to say that the days following October 11, 2003 have been sooo much easier for all of us than the days following October 11, 2002. E. is becoming a real little boy. He walks and runs, he understands what we say to him, he eats most of the stuff we eat. He only says, �Ma-ma,� "Da-da," and sometimes �K-k-kc� (kitty), but he babbles indeciferably all the time. Most importantly of all though, he sleeps. 10-12 hours at night, two naps during the day. I will definitely take that over the first sleepless nine months or so.

And what else has happened? Halloween. The actual night was not much to speak about, but when I dressed E. up in his costume for his little baby exercise class two days before Halloween, I almost died from cuteness. HE WAS ADORABLE. Oh my god. Here's proof:

See? Have I ever lied to you?

In other news, October was the babiest month ever, to quote my husband. Three babies were born to friends of ours last month. Unfortunately, one of the babes was not supposed to come out until December, so I've spent much of my free time worrying about poor baby K. and hoping hard that he'll make it. After three weeks of holding our collective breath, it's starting to look like he's getting better a tiny bit every day. No guarantees, but I'll take what I can get. I think we will all be very relieved when we finally see pictures of our friends' baby without the big, scary tubes going into his tiny, beautiful mouth.

Of course, I've been thinking a lot of thoughts during my days, but most of them are vapor now. Feh.

I'm just glad to be back! It feels so good to be here.

square - hip