Apr.06.04

Again, swiped from my sweet friend K...

A list of questions and answers about food!

I used to never do these lists, but I've come to enjoy 'em. I promise I won't do 'em all the time, just when they are really especially good.

I happen to think that what kind of food you like and eat says a lot about you. Maybe I'm wrong, but whatever. Heh.

Okay, here it is.

What's the last thing you ate? Organic yogurt with organic blueberries, strawberries, and mango thrown in.

What's your favorite cheese? Provolone.

What's your favorite fish? Smoked salmon.

What's your favorite fruit? Fresh pineapple.

When, if ever, did you start liking olives? I can't remember a time when I didn't like olives.

When, if ever, did you start liking beer? Probably around the age of 23 or 24.

When, if ever, did you start liking shellfish? As a kid, I found that I loved Popcorn Shrimp when my parents took me to Red Lobster. Does that count?

What was the best thing your mum/dad/guadian used to make? Hmm...I guess it would be Steak Diane, or however you spell it. I still crave it once in awhile, but I'll probably never try to make it myself.

What's the native specialty of your home town? Ugh, barbecue. So boring.

What's your comfort food? Tuna casserole. Boy, this questionnaire sure is bringing out my trash food proclivities, isn't it?

What's your favorite type of chocolate? Dark, dark, dark good-quality chocolate.

How do you like your steak? Um...I guess if I had to eat steak, it would be very well-done.

How do you like your burger? Again, if it's beef, well-done. I like any burger (veggie, salmon, whatever) with a big slice of tomato, some barbecue sauce, dijon mustard, and maybe some pickles.

How do you like your eggs? Scrambled. hard scrambled. No runny stuff.

How do you like your potatoes? French fried.

How do you take your coffee? Strong with lots of cream, lots of sugar.

How do you take your tea? Depends. Most of the time, just hot will do.

What's your favorite mug? The one I swiped from my old job.

What's your biscuit or cookie of choice? Homemade chocolate chip.

What's your ideal breakfast? Chilaquiles with scrambled eggs from Hilary's Urban Eatery in Chicago.

What's your ideal sandwich? Roasted eggplant sandwich from Bite Cafe in Chicago. MMMMM!!!

What's your ideal pizza? Lots of olives, tomato slices, veggie pepperoni.

What's your ideal pie? Chocolate pecan pie.

What's your ideal salad? Herbal greens mix, with some nuts, dried cranberries, feta, calamata olives, a tiny blop of dressing and some fresh black pepper.

What food do you always like to have in the fridge? Free range eggs, organic plain yogurt, rice milk (K. answered this one for me!) plus I'd add organic whole milk for E. and half and half for coffee.

What food do you always like to have in the freezer? Onion bagels, frozen dinners from Ethnic Gourmet for those nights I don't wanna cook, Quorn veggie "chicken" nuggets, frozen organic strawberries and blueberries.

What food do you always like to have in the cupboard? Cereal, oatmeal, pasta.

What spices can you not live without? Cumin, cinnamon, black pepper, kosher salt (is salt a spice?).

What sauces can you not live without? Barbecue sauce, homemade salsa.

Where do you buy most of your food? Hate to say it, but the regular ol' grocery store. We just can't afford to go 100% health food.

How often do you go food shopping? Once a week is almost not enough. What the hell is up with that?

What's the most you've spent on a single food item? Eh, it was probably my wedding cake, but I can't remember what it cost.

What's the most expensive piece of kitchen equipment you own? The Cuisinart, I'd have to guess.

What's the last piece of equipment you bought for your kitchen? Flour sifter.

What piece of kitchen equipment could you not live without? My cast iron frying pan.

How many times a week/month do you cook from raw ingredients? Probably about twice a week now. Pre-kid, it was more like four our five times/week.

What's the last thing you cooked from raw ingredients? Does guacamole count? I made that a couple of days ago.

What meats have you eaten besides cow, pig and poultry? Fish, shellfish, veggie meat.

What's the last time you ate something that had fallen on the floor? I am a mom. This happens every day.

What's the last time you ate something you'd picked in the wild? I guess it would be morel mushrooms C. found on my mom's farm. That was...last Christmas?

Place in order of preference: Garlic, lime, basil, ginger, mint, anise.

Place in order of preference: Food, sex, internet, movies, fashion.

Bread and spread: Sourdough with a little butter?

What's your fast food restaurant of choice, and what do you usually order? I would rather eat dirt than eat fast food.

What's the next thing you'll eat? Lunch. Not sure what that will be yet.

square - hip