July.06.04

E. has a cold. It almost ruined 4th of July, but because he's a trooper, he made it through our visit to our friends' Wisconsin lake house. The other parents were okay with us bringing him and we kept him away from the other babies. Everyone had fun--even E.

Today he's still snotty and grumpy. It makes for a very frustrating day for Mommy, that's for sure. All he really wants to do is sack out on the couch and watch TV, and I feel guilty that I'm letting him. Hey, he won't sleep 'cos he's too stuffy, and I need a break.

On a positive note, I think we have one of our very first rumblings of potty training readiness: E. has pulled his diaper off twice now and peed on the floor, like he didn't want to pee into the diaper. How exciting! I tried to show him that the pee goes in the potty, but when he didn't get it, I let it go. I know I have to be careful not to stress him out. I am not feeling any pressure to get him trained, but I'm on the lookout for any signs he'll throw out.

square - hip