Sep.06.04

Our trip, hopefully not too boring a story...

Well, we made it. The drive to KC was not easy, but the whole rest of the trip was awesome. I love being in my hometown. It just feels so comfortable, y'know?

The first thing we did was go to El Dorado Springs, MO, to visit my mom and her husband at their farm. Sadly, we could only stay one night and we arrived so freakin' late that we hardly had any time to visit. E. had a good time, though, running around in the fields in the dripping-hot humidity, looking at the chickens, trying desperately (and unsuccessfully) to get into the pond (ack!)... I'd say that the highlight at Grandma's for little E. was playing with their old metal Tonka tractor. You know, the kind that could pinch a finger off or do major damage to your head if you fell on it? Oh, he loved it. I'm just happy they didn't give it to us to take home. I have never been so grateful for the Consumer Products Safety Commission.

The next day, we hung out with my dad and his wife. Not much to report, just a few hours chit-chatting about nothing, really. And we went to Sweet Tomatoes for an early dinner. Whoo hoo.

Our hotel room was pretty good. For under $100/night, I found a place that was awesomely centrally located and had a kitchenette in the room. The cheap price of the place was reflected in, among other things, the fact that there was no maid service and if you wanted new towels you had to bring your old yucky ones down to the front desk yourself. After this trip, C. and I resolved that someday, just once, we will pay good money to have a super-deluxe hotel room with all the trimmings.

We visited with some mama friends also. We drank mojitos and talked about all kinds of things. We ate and played a fun game. C. The Wonder-Husband even took E. back to the hotel and stayed alone with him so I could sleep over. Whee! It was so much fun!!

One of the mamas had just had a baby. I held his tiny, soft body and felt that baby lust going wild. Ohhhh babies, babies, babies. I am now seeing moms with kids younger than mine, getting preggo with the second one. Uuunghhh... Must fight it! Must! Fight! It!

The last day in town was really low-key. We went out with some old friends and their kids for breakfast and then agreed to meet at the park by their house. Well, we didn't clarify which park, and lost track of them. Pretty funny. I ran over to their house to say goodbye, and then we bummed around town alone for the rest of the day. I'm a little sad that none of the old friends I emailed called me to hang out, but oh well. Maybe next time.

The drive back was pretty flawless. E. is a rockstar traveler. I'm shocked at how well he adapts to new situations. The only thing he doesn't do well while traveling is sleep. Otherwise he's amazing.

It was good, but I'm so freakin' glad to be home. Soooo glad.

square - hip