Aug.14.01

Augh. My back hurts. Stupid martha (as sweettits would put it)...

My friends, I am here to tell you that the world is shrinking at an amazing pace. People use the phrase "small world" a lot, but I don't think they really, truly know what it means.

Oh, but I do. I've had two amazing examples in as many days.

First: Someone signed my guestbook yesterday, and by crazy set of circumstances, it turned out that I sort of know this person. They don't know me, but I know of them. I had the pleasure of introducing myself and really surprising her.

Next: Today I rode with a new girl named MM. She and I had a pretty good day driving around Evanston. She seemed nice enough, but I was thinking that we probably didn't have that much in common. We got talking about where we're from. She is from Iowa City, went to school in Lawrence, Kansas, and then moved to Chicago. I wondered aloud if she might know a friend/ex-boyfriend raised in Iowa City, who also lived in K.C. and Lawrence, Kansas. "Do you know a guy named S.D.?" I asked. She gave me look of complete shock and almost fell over. "Oh. My. God," is all she could say at first, because not only did she know him(!!!) , but they were pretty good friends, (!!!) and she knew a bunch of other people I knew too! Yee-haw! It was like meeting some distant cousin. I can't believe it. I looked at her in a completely different light after that. After all, she's family!

How do these things happen?? I mean, it seems so random, and yet...

And this stuff happens A LOT to me. Definitely makes me wonder about things.

square - hip