Dec.26.01

Ooooohhhhhhh...why am I so bloated? Is that a sign of pregnancy? Pffftt--probably more like a sign of PMS...and too much cake...

Oh yeah! Christmas! That was yesterday! We opened presents. C. loved his Simpsons DVD and Krispy Kreme t-shirt. I loved (!!!!) my wonderful 10" vinyl copy of Beck's "A Western Harvest Field By Moonlight" complete with fingerpainting and a (oh my freakin' god I still can't believe this) DIGITAL CAMERA! C. spoils me too much. This thing even has the ability to make little 5 minute movies, with sound even! Holy crap! Once I read the massive manual, I am going to treat you guys to pictures and SOUND! Yeah!

Later that day, we made Christmas dinner for us and A. & L. They couldn't travel with L. being in her 9th month of pregnancy, so we shared Christmas with them. L. was not in a good mood, but who can blame her? She has a full-grown baby lodged up there somewhere near her rib cage. While I do think she is typically a total over-reactor, I know that she was just having a hard day. But for the most part we had fun. We went and saw Wes Anderson's new movie, "The Royal Tenenbaums." C. and I have been waiting for months to see it. It was worth the wait. Great movie. Different from "Rushmore," but not in a bad way. Wes Anderson has a knack for creating whole worlds you wish you could live in. I could even stomach Gwyneth Paltrow in this movie.

I thought I was going to have a meltdown when I realized that the soundtrack had both Elliott Smith and Nick Drake on it. It was just almost too much.

So. Anyway.

This morning we got up super-super early and went to IKEA to get things like shelves and curtains and picture frames and a bath mat. Candles and a melon baller. Spent too much. We were pretty good pre-Christmas, but a new house calls for...a few...things. We made a pact not to spend anymore money until I get back to work.

Oh well. At least now we have a bath mat.

Gotta get away from the glowing box now!

square - hip