Feb.14.02

I have to say I have mixed emotions about Valentine's Day. It's like this: I want to hate it because it's pretty much all about buying stuff like candy, flowers, and cards and crap that gets thrown out the next day, manufactured into a big deal by Hallmark and (insert major candy company here).

BUT...that said...I have actually always liked Valentine's Day. I think it stems from my birthday being in February. As a kid, I liked sharing my birthday month with a holiday that celebrated big, red hearts, pink cupcakes, and silly valentines with goofy sayings on them. In high school, certain lucky girls at my all-girl school had boyfriends who sent flowers to them at school. Even the least popular girls couldn't help but walk by the bulletin board on that day, hoping to see their name on an office note that said, "So-and-so, you have a delivery in the office." The only time I got my very own "delivery" was when my guy-friend S.B. sent me a yellow rose. I didn't really matter that much, but it still made me feel nice to know he thought of me.

Now I that I have my very own Valentine and he has me, we don't much care what day it is, for the most part. Sure it's sweet to take a moment to acknowlege the day that is supposed to be devoted to love, but we don't have any special plans. Well, except maybe to do it or something. Heh-heh.

As I get older, it seems that the holidays just fly by anyway. They're fleeting. They mark the passing of time in a way that is a little fancier than usual. I think that's okay.

So, HAPPY VALENTINE'S DAY! Or not.

--------

So the trip to Seattle was fine, but I'm very happy to be back now. Our hotel was right down the street from the Pike Place Market, so I wandered around there a lot. I really like that place. C. and I found an amazing Thai restaurant there, and that was cool. I also got to visit with her and her amazing and super-smart kid, which was the best part. I took naps in the hotel room. We ate fish tacos with B. and Co., who live there. Seattle is a pretty great place. It's nice sometimes to remember that there are whole states like Washington and Oregon that are full of liberals. I've never lived in a state where liberals are in the majority.

This morning was my first appointment with the midwife. It was all good news. I'm six weeks and four days along, and everything looks great so far (fingers crossed). They took some blood and I peed in a cup, and I'll go back in three weeks. I can't tell you how good it feels to know that everything is fine. I'm a normal, healthy pregnant woman. Heh. Pregnant. Heh. Woman. I'm not used to calling myself either of those things!

square - hip