March.25.02

Oh man, this past weekend was exactly what I needed.

We went to Ann Arbor again, to visit K. and S. A.M. and A.S. went with us, caravan-ing in their own car. We slept at A.S.'s parent's house in comfy beds with down comforters and electrically heated mattress pads. The parents were out-of-town, so it was like we were renting some huge cushy cabin, complete with tons of couch space, TV, and a nice view of many trees. Plenty of space for the dogs to run, both inside and outside.

Saturday we didn't do much. Slept in, took way too much time getting showered and dressed. Moved our lazy asses over to K. and S.'s house, where they fed us smoothies, fancy eggs, and potatoes au gratin. Watched the dogs rassle some more. Flopped down on the carpet and couches to doze and visit.

Finally getting ourselves motivated by around four o'clock, a bunch of us walked the two dogs to the dog park. I love watching dogs play together. They just look so damned happy! Great fun.

Dinner was at a sushi restaurant, where I ate everything but sushi. Yummy. Not as yummy as sushi, but that's okay.

After dinner, we watched "My Beautiful Laundrette." I love Hanif Kureishi movies. This one was just as good as the others I've seen. Daniel Day-Lewis's hair really cracked me up--he looked exactly like Vanilla Ice.

Sunday morning brought a little scare. I had a little blood come out. Told C. and cried a little out of fear while C. hugged me hard. Luckily, both S. and K. are doctors, so C. got K. and we talked a bit. He thought it was probably okay, but told me to watch it carefully and call the midwife if it got worse. Thankfully, it didn't.

As far as I know, the little babe is still doing its thing in my belly. Stay right where you are, little one! You're not ready to come out yet!

Oh, and the best and most hilarious part of the day: S. found out that my favorite cereal is available in Ann Arbor, and she bought me eight boxes of it as a late housewarming gift! Thanks to this lovely lady, I have one big, wonderful box of Quaker Corn Bran from Canada, and eight more (slightly smaller) boxes from yet another lovely lady in Ann Arbor. I tellya, if you've never given cereal as a gift, you should give it a try. I think that that is what everyone I know will be getting for Christmas this year. Who doesn't love cereal??

square - hip