Apr.03.02

I failed to mention that yesterday brought another appointment at the midwife's office. It was all good news. First, she informed me that, contrary to what I'd read and heard, I am now in my second trimester!!! Woo-hoo! I can't believe it's here. This takes away a decent chunk of my paranoia, since so many things are happening during the first trimester. I know that a miscarriage can happen in the second trimester, but I've heard it's less likely. And well, a certain amount of delusion is needed for me to be able to just get over it. I need to believe that the danger of miscarriage is lower now so that I can get on with my life and try not to psyche myself out as much as I have been. I know it's not the healthiest way to deal, but sometimes one has to do what one has to do.

Of course, the other good news is that the baby seems to be doing fine. The heartbeat was good and steady, and something like 160 beats or some such. The student midwife who was put in charge of finding the baby's heartbeat had a hell of a time finding the baby because he/she was squirming away from the doppler. I had this image of the little bean swimming away in my (currently) roomy belly, giggling and saying, "Ha-ha! Can't catch me!" Sassy little rascal, already getting precocious.

square - hip