May.01.02

Oh.Ag. C. brought me home somethin' the other day. A yucky little gift. Yes, he brought me a cold! And for some unknown reason, I thought I wouldn't get it! I spent an inordinate amount of time nursing him back to health with echinacea, homemade chicken soup, tea, and lots of hugs. Oh, and tissues with lotion to keep his little nose from getting red! My reward? A sore throat of my very own! That started yesterday, and now I have a runny nose and sore throat today. He's doing his best to return the favor and is taking care of me. I can't have echinacea, but I'll take extra tea instead... *koff*koff*

Today was yet another midwife appointment. We discussed how I'm still not gaining weight, but it seems that it's not too big of a concern...yet. The midwife told me to eat more bread and other carbs to get my weight up a bit. Yay! All those years of avoiding pasta and other bready things for fear of them making me fat, and now I have to eat them! Woo-hoo!

I also got a shot today. Some kind of vaccine to keep from getting pneumonia. I probably didn't really need it since the pneumonia season is actually in late Fall, but they recommended it since I have no spleen. No spleen means I'm more prone to catching things, so you never know, right? So making this a longer story than necessary, I decided that it was okay, as long as it doesn't hurt the baby. My midwife assured me that it didn't, so I bared my shoulder and took the shot. She was really, really good--I didn't feel a single thing! I commended her on her skill.

Of course, five hours later, when it started to hurt, I cursed myself because I was stupid enough to bare my RIGHT arm--the arm I use to write, eat, scratch, and basically do everything with. Why didn't I sacrifice my lesser-used left arm?! Ow. Oh well, guess I'll just have to deal with it for a day or two.

The visit with my midwife was fine, though. Really good. Heard the heartbeat, sounded great. Why am I still a little surprised that it's there everytime I hear it? If I can feel the baby move, why wouldn't it have a heartbeat? Just the paranoid part of my brain working, I guess. I'm starting to listen to that part less and less as time goes by...

I'm really excited for the ultrasound coming up. May 13th. We will (hopefully, hopefully,) find out the sex of the baby then, and see that our little nipper is (hopefully, hopefully) normal and healthy. Only twelve days to go 'til then.

Good things, good things. Good good good.

*koff*

square - hip