Jul.24.02

Gee, I wonder if there's anyone out there anymore! Hi! It's been a long time, I know. Everything here has been turned kind of...well, not quite upside-down, but more sideways, I'd say.

My Dad called me last week and informed me (very short notice) that he and my uncle were coming to Chicago to visit C. and me, and to drywall our upstairs room. A few days later, here they were, lugging tools and all kinds of stuff into the house, setting up camp and getting comfortable.

It's been nice having them here. I'd forgotten how much fun my Dad and uncle can be. They are total jokers and will do anything for a laugh. I love sharing all of my favorite Chicago stuff with them, restaurants especially. And they are great at what they do--right now, the two of them are building, bit by bit, a really fantastic room for us, complete with cedar-lined walk-in closet. And they're doing all of it for free! We're talking about a weeks' worth of hard work and no pay, just because we're family. Can you believe it?

Oh, I know I've been blessed. I can't believe how lucky I am. I will never, ever again bitch about my Dad missing my birthday for as long as I live.

It even gets better. He took C. and me to Babies R Us and told us to pick out some rather expensive gear for the kid that we still needed.

I mean, how do you even begin to thank someone for something like this??

Amazing, amazing, amazing.

In other news, I had my third ultrasound this past Monday. And thank the stars, my placenta has moved to its proper place, thereby making natural childbirth a possibility again (yay!), AND allowing me to have sex again! I had not had any kind of sex (either solo or with C.) for two months. Two whole freakin' months!!!! Monday night, I took care of that. And oh man, it was soooooo goooood. We had to reconfigure a little bit to compensate for two months' worth of growing belly, but where there's a will, there's a way. And hoo boy, there was a WILL. Wink-wink. Heh-heh.

To add to the chaos, we have another wedding to attend in NYC this coming weekend. So we'll be dragging our (already tired from staying up late hosting Dad and Uncle) asses to Brooklyn for two days and then dragging them back. Oh well, life is too short to be upset about losing some sleep when there's fun to be had. We're going to see so many friends this weekend, it's ridiculous.

But we cannot wait until lovely uneventful August and September so we can recover for a bit before the baby arrives and the real fun begins.

square - hip