Sep.23.03

I know, I know. I suck at updating.

The fact that I don't update as much really irritates me. But then when I think about what I would say, all I can think about is those loooong days of following E. around the house while he messes with the same stuff he messed with yesterday. Staying at home has its joys, truly it does. But many days are like this:

Wake up, change E.'s diaper. Fix myself something to eat while keeping one eye on E. Strap E. into his high chair to watch Baby Beethoven while I check email, gobble down breakfast, and grab a super-fast shower. Give E. some breakfast (baby food, cheerios and/or fruit). Playtime, which is me sitting on the floor building towers for E. to knock down; following him while he toddles around the house; stopping him from eating dust bunnies and hurting the cat. Change diaper. Naptime. Eat. Play. Etc., etc. And C. wonders why I can't wait for him to get home some nights?

Have I talked about all this before? Have I mentioned that I am in a crappy mood? I'm trying to snap out of it.

Maybe listing the good things will help. Like when E. is playing by himself and suddenly he runs up to me and throws himself on me in his version of a hug. So sweet. Or when he looks at me and smiles that addictive smile. When he does the funny little kid things he does that only a mom would find truly adorable.

Anywayyy...

I haven't mentioned my trip to the PNW! It was really good. I met dear preggo Snarkymarky and The Boy and cool mama Dorkfysh and The Kid. It was a real treat. We visited others, met some people, bought some cool Japanese stuff.

I can't deny that vacationing with the kid is harder than being at home, but it was fun to show him new things too.

Can I just say that being in that part of the country makes me feel like I'm doing something good? The trees are green, the sky sparkles...I don't know, I just love it out there. If C. didn't have such a good job here, we'd probably move to Portland or Seattle.

Hey, guess what? E.'s first birthday is coming up. We're planning a little party. I'm excited. I really can't believe he got so old so fast.

This entry is allll over the place. That's what I get for not updating!

square - hip