Feb.07.05

Things are so, so, so much better! Yes!

I can't believe how different today is, compared to, say, Friday and Saturday. Today, my foot hurts not at all (!!), thanks to my old Birkenstocks that I haven't worn since high school (that's 1992, for all of you keeping score). I never throw anything of value away, you see, and while many times it's for naught, this time it saved me. I won't be venturing out in public with my fashion-faux-pas Birkenstocks and socks on, but hey, around the house I don't want to ever take them off. I am cancelling my doctor's appointment and I'm off to buy a pair of really good shoes with really good support.

AND-AND-AND! Out of desperation, I hunted online for my old cancer doctor (from way back in 1990) and found an email address for him. I wrote him, asking if he remembered me, asking if he knew a good endocrinologist in Chicago. Today, I got this email from him:

"Dearest Squarepants - - I most certainly do remember you and congratulations on your cure and great life as a wife and mother.

"Interestingly, my brother now teaches at [my old high school] and my daughter is likely to attend there in 2 years. I do know one fabulous hem-onc physician in Chicago who can get you to a great endocrinologist. She is the chief of the Hematology-Section at [blahblah hospital] and her name is Dr. X. She is a real fireball of energy and understanding. She may even take care of all of you and decide you don't need an endocrinologist. Call her office, say you are being referred by me, and I'm sure she will get you in in a reasonable period of time. Thyroid issues after cure from Hodgkins disease are the rule not the exception, especially in women. You'll do fine. If you would develop a "thyroid cancer" they are almost always papillary in cell type, easily curable [something I've heard before], and do not metastasize. All you need is follow-up. Stay in touch."

I was so surprised and touched that I cried. What an angel he was, and still is. He was always so wonderful to me when I was just a kid with Hodgkins, scared shitless. I can't sing his praises enough. Nothing I can say seems to cover my feelings of love and gratitude for this man.

Having a second root canal seems like such a small bump in the road now. Things are definitely looking so much better.

square - hip