Aug.03.03

We're still here. Sorry I dropped that bomb and then didn't come back to update for awhile. Thank you, everyone, for the love you gave me in the guestbook. Things are getting better in very small increments. Some days are better than others. I cried for the first week, and was quite happy for the last several days.

Yesterday was a very good day. Because all the construction made a mess of our house, I talked C. into hiring a cleaning lady for a one-off visit. What I thought would be one lady turned out to be an entire crew of no-nonsense Polish women in their 50s and 60s, who just descended upon the house, eliminating any and all dirt in their paths. Miraculously, yesterday was also my regular babysitter day, so I was able to leave the house to "the help" (oh my god I can't believe I just said that--I swear I'm not the lady of leisure I sound like here) and went to get my hair cut. I'd been trying to get an appointment for about two weeks, but things kept coming up. So I sat in the stylist's chair getting a lovely 'do while my house was being cleaned and my child was being cared for. It was pretty sweet, I gotta say. I felt like I deserved it after the few weeks I've been through.

Yesterday morning, E. was screened by a group of therapists who recommended two hours of speech therapy and one hour of occupational therapy. We liked the group and the place, but found out that they don't take our insurance, so we'll be looking at other options. We were going to look at other options anyway--there are so many right now, it's pretty overwhelming. He hasn't even been officially diagnosed yet, and probably won't be for months (and maybe not ever, depending on the level of his functionality or lack thereof). Oddly enough (and perhaps fortunately), many of the groups we're speaking to insist that diagnosis isn't necessary in order to treat him.

I'll keep you posted on our progress. It's slow and kind of nerve-wracking, but we'll get through somehow.

square - hip