Jan.29.01

Sunday night is a time I dislike, for the most part. It means that tomorrow you have to go back to work...

I've got cabin fever. I feel a little closed-in. More snow on the way, I hear. Haven't we had enough already???

Last night was fun. Hung out with C.'s gang. S.& K. brought their new dog (I *LOVE* him!) and A.& M. came. S.M. cooked some great food, and we all ate and drank a lot. Fish was there. Man, she is really pregnant. She looked kind of uncomfortably big, almost as big around as she is tall. Poor lady. I used to think she was nothing more than a shallow yuppie, but after last night I think she's got more to her than I thought. She talked about wanting to adopt a kid someday (I wonder what Kr. thinks of that!), and other stuff that made me think she had some real thoughts in her head.

I have always wanted to be pregnant. I love being around pregnant women--they have a gravitational pull for me. I almost envy them. I have lately been thinking that pregnancy is probably not *nearly* as glorious as I have fantasized it to be. It probably mostly sucks. Oh well...I still think it's a special thing, to have a baby growing inside you, to know that without you, there would be no baby. I understand that when they grow bigger they get minds of their own and they're not like the dolls I played with as a kid...that's okay with me. I want to share and learn and grow with the kid that C. and I will someday have. It will be exciting and it will be hard work too. I think I'm up for it. Someday it'll happen...wish we didn't have to wait.

square - hip