Aug.30.01

I've had a very interesting morning.

How many of you out there can say you went to check out a rollerskating rink at the early hour of 9:15AM?

Huh? Anyone?

C.'s band is very likely going to film a music video in the huge rollerskating rink. When they told me, I expected not much more than a grey-painted concrete floor and some blacklight paint splattered on the walls. But this place was awesome!! Beautiful wooden floor. One wall has a huge, light-up cutout of the skyline of Chicago. There is even a raised, smaller platform with a great view of the lower floor! This place is A-Maze-Ing. I cannot wait to strap on some old rental skates and hit that wood. The video is going to be sooo great.

I went to the eye doctor after that to get new glasses. When I found out that my prescription has not changed at all since the last time, I was a little mad that I paid for an exam. Oh well. The doctor strongly suggested that I allow him to dilate my eyes, but I declined, saying I thought it might be bad to drive with dilated eyes. Truth is, I am a bit scared to get it done. I just don't like the idea of it. I've always told every doctor who suggested it that I didn't think it was a good time. Every time, they say, "Well, I think you should make an appointment soon to come back so I can do it." Yeah, right! Sure!

So I picked out some lovely wire frames (I used to have nice clunky tortoise-shells, but it's time for a change), and in 7-10 days I will have my new glasses. I really, really wish they could get them to me sooner! How can lenscrafters do it in an hour and these guys take two weeks?!

I'm hungry. Gotta go.

square - hip