Jan.30.02

This morning I woke up with the certainty that I was having my 12th urinary tract infection. Yes, I have had a lot of them. They suck.

So I called the doctor to see when I could come in and pee in a stupid cup. They said to come right in, so I rushed my buns downtown to the doctor's office.

While I was there and peeing in a cup, I figured what the hell, and asked them to do a pregnancy test too.

And wouldn't you know it? I'm pregnant!

Only a couple of weeks pregnant, but still. !!!

Every time I say or think the words, "I'm pregnant," I still laugh giddily. Pregnant! I am going to have a baby! Holy crap!

The doc, who is also pregnant, was so caught up in my excitement and happy tears that she got choked up a little too. It was sweet.

C. works downtown too, so after I left the doctor I went over to his office. He needed a break from work (he's working late tonight--big project), so we went to get a bite to eat. I kept the whole thing a secret until we were halfway over the bridge overlooking the Chicago River. The snow was falling. I stopped there, and with a huge smile and a big kiss, I told him. I'm pregnant! We're going to have a baby! He was shocked but so so so happy. More than anything, he was surprised at how I'd been able to keep it a secret at all. Heh. It's good to keep him guessing. Keeps things spicy.

Wearing: Red T-Rexes Softball t-shirt (lucky number 13 on the back), jeans, black Converse hi-tops.

Song running through my head at the time: "Pretty Mary K" by Elliott Smith.

Important things to remember.

square - hip